Mexican Hot Chocolate Vegan Cookies

I was super excited when my copy of Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar landed on my door mat amongst the bills and junk mail. I chucked the bills and junk mail on the sofa and wandered distractedly into the kitchen with my new favourite recipe book. Dinner could wait! I had to flip through the pages of all the wonderful creations and try to figure out how the hell the figured it all out. The Mexican Chocolate Snickerdoodles were the first cookies to catch my eye. Chocolate and spice; whats not to like? So I marked the page and went on with my day. Until now. I had today off work for a hospital appointment that took nowhere near as long as expected, so I thought “What the hell? Let’s bake cookies!!”

 

And they didn’t disappoint. They have the chocolate richness of brownies, the satisfying crunch of a cookies, and they are sooooo good warm while the center is all chewy and lovely. The spice is subtle and suitable for children and chilli wimps alike. I definitely recommend leaving it in even if you aren’t a spicy kind of guy/gal.

The link to the online recipe is here http://www.theppk.com/2009/09/mexican-hot-chocolate-snickerdoodles/

I left off the cinnamon/sugar topping as I think they were sweet enough as they were… so I guess my version wasn’t exactly a snickerdoodle, but they were amazing anyway. I also switched the all-purpose flour for brown rice flour to make them gluten-free, and, as suggested in the book, I added a little extra brown rice flour. Something to do with how much it absorbs or something. I just heaped the whole cup rather than leveling it off and they came out fine.

Your family and friends will never know that these are vegan!! Enjoy!

Leave a comment